Contribution Madlibs

Michelle Marovich is preparing to run the Designing for Participation workshop for the People team. She’s looking for some real world examples that can help make the concepts concrete for everyone, so she set up a Contribution Madlib template for people to fill out.

Mine is below. It would be great to see your version of the Madlibs—just replace the underlined sections with information about a project you’ve designed for participation.

I want to create a local Mozilla community in Antarctica, I need several people to help me on it therefore I will write a blog post that syndicates to Planet Mozilla and reach out directly to people that I know are interested in this in order to publicize the work.

Then I start an email thread with people who have responded to the idea and identify a place in IRC where we can continue the discussion in order to engage with the people who are interested. I break the work down into tasks by having a group discussion about what we can do in order to see what emerges and then asking for drivers for the different ideas that were generated.

I communicate those tasks by creating a list of people who want to be a part of this team and writing down who is doing what. So that we can work effectively together, I always make sure that we are continuing the discussions in IRC. I continue to raise awareness of the work by evangelizing what the group is doing by writing more blog posts, posting to Facebook and using other project channels.

I communicate decisions and progress by delegating this to the people on the team who want to drive the project management. When we achieve a milestone, reach a goal, or someone does something amazing I recognize them by thanking them publicly for all of their hard work.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

