Knife Sharpening Truck

I heard the knife sharpening truck yesterday but I didn’t see it when I stuck my head out of the window. As far as I can tell, there’s no real schedule for the truck so when you hear the tinkling song coming down your street you need to grab your camera (if you want to get a picture) or your knives (if you want to get them sharpened) and drop what you are doing and hurry outside.

We’ve used the truck once or twice before and it seemed fine, although it seems that people have some very definite opinions about this. Even if this isn’t the best (or safest) way to sharpen your knives, I think it does bring up a question of what else (besides ice cream) could be handled as part of a truck based service that could be announced via some tinkling song. It’s a hard question…

3 thoughts on “Knife Sharpening Truck

  1. “…what else (besides ice cream) could be handled as part of a truck based service that could be announced via some tinkling song. It’s a hard question…”

    Not that hard. Fruit & vegetable trucks were a part of my youth in Brooklyn. There’s no reason this can’t be revived.

  2. I am interested in getting into a business. I remember years ago I lived in a subdivision where a truck came and would sharpen your knives. I never had the opportunity to use the service but every time I try to cut some roast and my knives aren’t that sharp I think how nice it would be to be able to bring my knives out for a sharpening. The only problem is I don’t have the equipment or the know how on how to start this business up. Can you advise. Thanks

Leave a Reply

