Internet By The People For The People

Right now there are no t-shirts in the Mozilla Store that have the Mozilla logo on them, so I’ve been working with a designer to create a new shirt design. I wanted to post the latest version here so people could take a look and comment.

Mozilla t-shirt design
(Click on the image for the full view of the black version of the shirt and for an alternate orange version.)

This design borrows some of the feel of the old Hack shirt. I think the circle of stars also borrows a bit from the European Union flag, but with Europe’s high Firefox usage I guess the connection makes sense🙂

If you have any thoughts or suggestions about this design, feel free to post your comments here.

16 thoughts on “Internet By The People For The People

  1. Overall I like the idea. “Internet by the people, for the people” is just great.

    I love my old hack shirts but they are getting a little long in the tooth. I have another white T with the lizard on the front and mozilla.org on the back that even my wife likes to wear.

    It does seem a bit busy to me though. I think I would like the text to be on the back with the mozilla.org centered at the top like the old white T. Also, please include a white T.

  2. Thanks for the feedback. Having 10 stars instead of 11 is a great idea. I also think putting ‘by’ on the same line as ‘the people’ makes sense too.

  3. Personally, I think “mozilla.org” should be “mozilla.com”.
    If a random bypasser wants to check out this mozilla thingie, he should be greeted with the refreshed Fx3 mozilla.com, which is looking very attractive and “welcoming” so far.

    Or even better: Just remove “.org” and have just “mozilla”. That would ungeek the shirt a bit.

  4. david: I am not that keen on the design – i don’t like the bold lines under the dino’s head. I would like to see them come up with a few other ideas to choose from. And I agree with smaug, if the intent is to bring back the old look and feel of mozilla.org, then a design that captures that flavor.

  5. I do think that we should be bring back the old look and feel as much as possible. There are some valid concerns about parts of the old design though, so personally I don’t think it makes sense to fully revert to the original style. For instance, we can bring back the use of stars without bringing back a red star.

Leave a Reply

