Our Hybrid Didn’t Like The Short, Mild Winter

I’ve noticed that our average gas mileage has gone down lately—we used to get in the low 30s MPG and now we’re in the mid to high 20s MPG. Our driving pattern hasn’t changed much, so I assume this is because the temperature has dropped to a not-so-chilly 50° or so lately.

There are a few reasons why hybrids don’t like winter (engines need to warm up, the heater eats up energy, tire pressure goes down (although I added more air recently)) but I had assumed that this applied to cars in places that actually got cold. Hopefully it is the weather though and mileage will go back up soon.

dsc_3803

One thing that makes me think it might not be the weather is the odd consumption information the car tracks. In the picture above my average mileage is 25 MPG, but my best mileage is 21 MPG although I had reached 60 MPG at one point over the last thirty minutes. Maybe I’m just misunderstanding things, but the car’s manual had an example of this screen where the best number was actually higher than the average number. Maybe the computer is just counting things wrong?

Leave a Reply

