A Visual List of Mozilla-Based Applications

I’ve written before about the number of Mozilla-based applications but just posting a number seems a bit boring. Showing a group of logos might make things more interesting, so here is a view of the applications from our Featured Mozilla-Based Applications page.

mozillabased

These are just some of the applications from the full list. If there’s an application that uses Mozilla technology that is not on the featured or full list, please let me know about it and I’ll update our information.

12 thoughts on “A Visual List of Mozilla-Based Applications

  1. As far as I know Miro is still using Mozilla technologies. If you have information about them moving to something else, let me know and I can update the lists.

  2. Hi David,
    I had to dig up the info that I’m aware of.
    It’s a reply from a Miro representative (Will Kahn-Greene) on getsatisfaction.com to an issue that I was having with Miro. In about the fourth reply under my original question is this.

    “One of the things we did for Miro 2.0 was re-do the entire user interface. One of the big changes that this involved was that we switched the Windows platform from being a XULrunner application to a GTK application. It shares a lot of code with the gtkx11 platform, now.”

    “The end result of that is that the interface is no longer built with html/xml/javascript/css. So it’s no longer possible to tweak things that way anymore.”
    http://xrl.in/1r6k

    I know that Mozilla initially provided support/funding for Miro and Will doesn’t say that Miro does not use XULrunner for other operating systems, so I obviously don’t have the full story and I’m not sure that removing Miro from the Featured Mozilla-Based Applications page is the right thing to do just yet and I’m sure that you wouldn’t do that anyway without all of the facts.

    I’m moving to Fedora soon and it will be my primary OS, but it’s a shame that Miro doesn’t use XULrunner or html/xml/javascript/css any longer for their Windows version because one, Miro’s interface cannot be adequately customized to accommodate the needs of persons with visual impairments, and two, well, Windows is still the most used OS and the more Mozilla based or powered apps in it the better it is for all of us including open source advocates.

  3. Hi.
    You can add to the list Scenari a WYSIWYM editor. SCENARI is an open source application suite for designing publishing chains, used for creating professional standard multimedia documents.
    Thanks for the job ! It is a plaesure to see another projects using XULRunner.
    Regards.
    Smat.

Leave a Reply

