Applications That Used To Use Mozilla Technology

I recently looked up information about the Raptr client because I had read that it used XULRunner. When I went to download it though, the app was clearly marked as being built with Adobe AIR. I talked to someone at Raptr and it turns out they had used XULRunner but switched because it wasn’t meeting their needs.

former_logos

This got me thinking about other applications that used to use Mozilla technologies so I set up a list to help track things. If you know of anything that’s missing, feel free to edit the wiki page or post here.

It could be interesting to contact people involved with these applications (as well as current users of Mozilla technologies) to get their thoughts and suggestions about how we might improve things.

19 thoughts on “Applications That Used To Use Mozilla Technology

  1. I spent a couple of years building a Gecko-based hybrid Desktop/Web application platform. An application based on this platform is used worldwide–at Prometric centers and individual client sites–to administer Examinations. Individual clients range from most major US insurance companies to the British Safety Council.

    When I started, Adobe Air didn’t exist, Silverlight and XAML didn’t exist, and WebKit wasn’t an option either. Now there is lots of competition: the rest of the world is catching up. Despite our being very happy with our app, I’m not sure I would embed Gecko if I were starting today. I don’t regret my choice; I would not have been able to do what I did without Mozilla. Still, the app was a lot of work, work that might not be justifiable if a simpler option existed.

    Since the hard part’s (hopefully) over and the app has been working very well for a couple of years, we’ll stick with Mozilla technologies (and fix the sometimes non-trivial breakage that happens with each new version) unless we are squeezed out by a change in Mozilla’s direction.

    I really do like the Moz technologies ( in fact I’ve just created a dinky XUL editor–an early alpha is at http://sixe.mozdev.org/ ) and would be sad if I had to abandon ’em.

    I have lots of suggestions but I won’t run on any longer in this post.

  2. I’m very sad to say this, but for future projects/products I will be moving to Adobe AIR. Tried to give it as much time as I can because I like the technology and capabilities.

  3. You are definitely forgetting Songbird and Komodo.

    You might also mention that the mozilla web component is used in tools like Autodesk Maya and Sidefx Houdini, as the inline help viewing panel.

    1. @Pete: The post is about applications that previously used Mozilla technologies but switched off. Songbird & Komodo continue to use Mozilla technologies for their projects AFAIK.

  4. David, is there a reason you’re keeping a list of apps that *used* to use Mozilla on MDC? It seems kind of pointless.

    What’s the purpose of this list? It seems to combine apps which died or morphed (NVU/Mozilla) with apps that switched to something else: the latter are much more interesting than the former, since apps come and go all the time.

  5. Thanks for the comments and links to additional applications. Here are some responses to specific points above:

    – As Budda40 says, applications that use Mozilla that are actively being developed are being tracked on a different list. I apologize if this wasn’t clear.

    – The list of former applications that I put up does contain two different sets of things — apps that no longer use Mozilla technology because they switched to something else and apps that are no longer under development. Maybe these should be separated out into different lists, but neither group belongs on the list of currently developed Mozilla-based apps.

    – I set up this list because I realized that gathering feedback from former users of Mozilla technology would be just as useful as gathering feedback from current users. If the former users are no longer using Mozilla technology because they either switched or stopped development they should still have interesting feedback.

  6. Could you separate the list into apps that switched from Mozilla technologies to some other desktop technology, apps that switched to a web application and ones that are inactive.

    I think it’s the first set that are the most interesting. The ones that switch to a web application, like Joost, are probably more due to a business decision that an issue with the technology.

  7. With all the confusion over who’s on what list, would it not be better to simply expand ‘List of Mozilla-Based Applications’ into three categories – currently-using, previously-used and died-using? (But perhaps not under those very names…) That way it’s more discoverable than having separate articles which cover ostensibly the same information just in its different states.

    1. I think keeping everything together makes sense because they are all related.

      I created a new page initially because the current list of Mozilla-based apps is very long and I thought things would be buried if I just stuck it at the bottom.

      Maybe just setting some anchor links up top would help with that? If you have suggestions for combining things into one page in a usable way, please let me know.

    1. Ian, good question. Although Gecko and XULRunner get most of the attention, I think it’s worth tracking applications that use any Mozilla code.

      NSS code is in Mozilla’s repository and the project pages and documentation are hosted on Mozilla sites. I’m not directly involved with NSS though, so maybe the team members have a different opinion.

      For reference, all of the technologies that I think should be tracked for Mozilla-based applications are at

      http://www.mozilla.org/projects/technologies.html

      Feel free to suggest things that should go on the list or things that are no longer relevant.

Leave a Reply

