We’re building a better Mozilla site

The mozilla.org site has just been updated with a new design. We relaunched the site with a new design last year, but we felt there were some elements we could improve to make sure we’re telling the Mozilla story in the best way possible.

I want to thank Lee, John, Tara, Steven, Mike and the many other people who helped make this happen. I also want to point out a couple of the changes I’m most excited about.

There was a discussion last year about leading with what we believe in or what we are doing. We’re rotating both at the top of the page now and are testing to find out which statement gets people more interested in learning more about Mozilla. I’ll post those results soon.

It’s important to have information from the entire community on the site. We’ve tried a community feed that didn’t work as well as I had hoped, so instead we now have several slots in the right side bar to promote a range of activities. The current content was taken from about:mozilla but these spaces are meant to be open. If there’s something you’d like to promote, please contact me.

Lastly, I wanted to preserve the different mozilla.org designs so I set up a site history page on the wiki. Take a look at how things have evolved starting from the original site above through 5 other designs over the last 12 years.

7 thoughts on “We’re building a better Mozilla site

  1. Congrats, well done indeed.

    The Our Mission page is really great. I’m not sure how long ago it was updated, but I love the content.

    It’s also pretty cool looking back at the old mozilla.org.
    The 2005 one brings back nice memories for me.

  2. Page looks really well, better than on first design that you published here some time ago, I remember. However, 2 things are missed: top menu is no more dropping down and a link to planet.mozilla.org is lost (or I wasn’t able to found it). I hope that it can be added easily.

    1. For the top menu, I’m not sure what you are referring to. The previous design didn’t have drop down menus either.

      Good point about the link to planet.mozilla.org being harder to find. We wanted to simplify the page and did reduce the number of links (in this case, we removed the ‘Looking for’ set of links at the top of the page). We want to rethink the footer at some point soon, so maybe a link to Planet fits in there?

Leave a Reply

