Namoroka Parks Page Is Live

After a few more tweaks to the previous design, the Namoroka Park page is live. I’m really looking forward to seeing what sort of response people have to this.

Another thing I’m looking forward to is expanding this concept to include other parks and more. David Ascher just posted about using beach names for Thunderbird releases and that fits in well with a program to help the digital commons support physical public commons.

To help think through what an expanded concept might look like, I put together a very basic mock-up showing what sorts of things could be covered. I am definitely not a designer so this isn’t very pretty, but it might be useful for a discussion about where to go next with this.

A couple of notes about the mock-up:

  • If this about more than just parks we’ll need a new name that can cover more information. I like the name preserve since it describes protecting wildlife, plants and other natural features. Nothing is finalized though, so let us know what you think.
  • I’m using the star graphic from the Get Involved page just as a placeholder. It might make sense to come up with some graphic elements specifically for this program, although it’s probably helpful to have a name before thinking about logos 🙂

2 thoughts on “Namoroka Parks Page Is Live

  1. I think the project is good, and I’ll probably make a donation myself.

    However, a niggle about the design – in a fullscreen window on a screen 1024 pixels wide, the edge of the map controls and the end of the “Firefox 3.6” is chopped off. I haven’t examined the design in detail, but I’m sure things could be allowed to squash up a bit more horizontally before chopping the right edge off…

Leave a comment