Getting Involved Evolved

I’m really excited about Mary’s post about increasing our efforts to help people get actively involved in Mozilla. I’m also looking forward to helping with that this year.

For a while now, we’ve been experimenting with ways to help people become contributors through the Get Involved page on mozilla.org. We’ve learned a lot and I’ve taken several different ideas and created a roadmap for how to improve these pages in 2011.

As an example, creating a place to highlight our local communities and promote contribution opportunities in different areas should be very useful. This wireframe is a thought about what this might look like. If anyone has any ideas about this, or other parts of the plan, let me know.

Another project is the creation of a community phone book. This is an idea that has been around for a long time (I remember talking to Seth about it on my first day in the Mountain View office in early 2008) and I can’t wait to see it finally take shape.

Gerv has come up with a great code name for this (oh yeah, he’s also drafted a detailed specification) and I’ve put together a very basic mockup. We’d love to get feedback about these plans, so take a look and let us know what you think.

There are many more ways we can help people become active contributors and I look forward to talking about other ideas soon.

4 thoughts on “Getting Involved Evolved

  1. (Can’t comment on Mary’s article as I don’t have a WordPress account, but wanted to say this there as well…)

    This new team is a really great idea, I’m very excited to hear about it! I’ve thought for a long time that we need to get this community connected much better, as it’s huge and full of really great people. It’s awesome to see this happening now, looking forward to what you people get going there!

  2. I am very interested in the get involved page stuff… any news on that? Also it would be awesome if (once I complete version 0.1 of Affero) we can maybe get some tie in with that, would feel extremely proud and honoured to have worked on something like this.

Leave a comment